QotD and Playa Provisions

“I shall go on shining as a brilliantly meaningless figure in a meaningless world.” 
— F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Beautiful and Damned 

Got a spammy comment, but the product’s pertinent (my penis is plenty big, my prescriptions are covered by insurance and I know how to meet Russian single ladies, da?)

Hard not to like someone with a cartoon, Star Wars menu and an innovative idea – not to mention, to my surprise, the prices are COMPLETELY reasonable.

Pork Posole – $55.00 (Five 12 oz. Portions)
Pork Braised in a thick rich smokey tomato broth with hominy and onions – Cabbage lime and radish on the side

Chicken and Sausage Gumbo – $45.00 (Five 12 oz. Portions)
Chicken thighs with andouille sausage cooked with herbs, spices onions, celery and green bell peppers

They should deliver me some granola (they don’t deliver) to review, moo hoo ha ha.

Quinoa Granola – $25.00 (Five 4 oz. Portions)
Quinoa flakes, almonds, sugar, sunflower seeds, cinnamon, grapeseed oil, maple syrup, vanilla (Gluten Free!)

They have packages that come prepacked in an ice chest you keep, and list/sell everything you need to heat the meals up. Pretty darn nifty if you ask me.

As someone who has totally, completely lucked out with a wonderful camp chef who goes beyond out of his way to include and accomodate her, I haven’t experienced the hassle of meal planning, prep and execution but it seems Playa Provisions would def be worth it for other travellers like me, who need a simple, compact way of eating well while in BRC. Man, that was a long sentence. But you know what I mean, not everybody can travel with a full kitchen set-up. Pot. Heat source. Water (melted ice). Spork – eat it out of the bag. Done. Pretty cool.

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “QotD and Playa Provisions”

  1. lazerfox Says:

    The only big issue is you have to pick up in their San Fran office. It limits who can opt-in for these packages.

    I had discussed with the bf since we are arriving in San Fran but I think we agreed the cost was just a bit too high…we’re already so far in the money pit for this trip already (HA!)

    • J Says:

      Yep, but my thinking was getting someone to pick up for you. One package was less than $500, so that’s $100 a person for two hot meals a day, which is pretty good….considering what I’ve spent just on snacks and stuff…and I’m hungry and everything on the menu sounds so good right now. 😛

Leave a Reply

