Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art…. It has no survival value; rather it is one of those things that give value to survival. ~C.S. Lewis

“We can sit together in front of a mirror, or a television set, or a window, for hours on end, and everything that passes between us seems to be recorded—giggles, silences, commentary—in the annals of righteousness.”

—Rebecca Wolff, The Beginners

If I never go to Burning Man or a regional burn ever again, I will still have the most precious, important, wonderful thing about them: my friends. I’m 33 (blech) and for the first time in my life, I have people I genuinely consider friends in the best sense and meaning of the word. People who like me how I AM, not in spite of it. People who show they actually care about me through word and deed. I still get lonely, sure – and feel alone. But not as much or as often as I used to; how could I? I have some amazing and awesome people in my life that make me happier than I thought I knew how to be. From the real-life friends who come to visit me on my birthday to the internet friends who send me a well-wishing, hope you’re OK email…it’s staggering, how thoughtful and generous people have been to me. I really just had to publically thank you all and tell you your friendship and kindnesses towards me are not taken for granted – from the slightest comment on a blog post to envelopes full of cash. 😛

Thank you.

And now, an example of one such awesome gesture that has just made my year:

An innocuous posting of a picture of a dude with a crochet beard led to a stranger offering to make me one. Isn’t it FABULOUS?

The double-boned corset, not so much! Not without a minion, anyways, to fetch and lift! And now, just for FF, gratuitous KITTEH!

There has never been a cat
Who couldn’t calm me down
By walking slowly
Past my chair.
~Rod McKuen

FEROCIOUS BEASTIE!!!

It is impossible to keep a straight face in the presence of one or more kittens.  ~Cynthia E. Varnado

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art…. It has no survival value; rather it is one of those things that give value to survival. ~C.S. Lewis”

  1. lazerfox Says:

    It looks great!!

    I was supposed to make a bearded beanie for my BF also but I only got as far as making the Beanie…could never find a proper beard crochet pattern 😦

  2. Foxfur Says:

    We have good reason to love you.
    The feelings are reciprocal dear 🙂

  3. Kendall Says:

    xxoo~ cause you make me step up my game, cause you make us laugh, cause you bring it so raw and true.

  4. N Says:

    I am rubber and you are glue. What you say bounces off me and sticks to you.

Leave a Reply

