Tall tents

Eureka Backcountry

From the reviews (5-stars on Amazon):

I do a couple of bicycle touring trips per year. I wanted a lightweight solo tent that would be easy to carry on the bike, accomodate my 6′ 3″ height and also be easy to put up and take down. I tried the Eureka Solitaire and found it to be a little too confining for me. Also tried a Wenzel Starlite bivy tent that was a little smaller than I’d like. I think the Backcountry 1 is just the right combination of size and weight for carrying on a bike or backpacking. I have used it three times now and am very happy with it.

I am 6’9″. I need a tent to be 8′ (96″) for me to be able to fit and not wake up wet from condensation. I wanted a one-man backpacking tent. And this was the sole tent under $250 that fit the bill. The cross-pole for the rainfly requires putting one end on the ground to get it to fit, but after figuring that out, I have a tent that’s: Light. Long. Durable. Inexpensive. Natural-ish in color. After a trip or two, I am very happy with this purchase.

I am 6’5″ and have a big auto inflating sleeping pad, so this 1 person tent was one of the few that was free standing with the foot print that I needed to accomadate my pad/body.

at 5’10” I find it downright palatial.

I am 6′ 3″ with broad shoulders, and I fit comfortably inside.

I am 6’5″ tall and 250lb, and the tent seemed just barely big enough for me – maybe a couple of inches to spare at each end. There is enough room to sit up to get dressed in the middle of the floor area. There’s not enough room to keep a pack in the tent too unless you want to sleep on top of it.

The color of the tent is very pleasant and blends in nicely with a wooded landscape.

I’m very happy with this tent.

Ten keychain flashlights
<
for five bucks

84 oz Ounce Omega Style Replacement Bladder Reservoir Hydro
marked down from $50 to $10

clip-on baseball hat light down town to .39 from $12

Glow sticks are stupid. Glow sticks are trash. Unless you buy

<

“Oglo uses the first and only glow-in-the-dark technology capable of making lots of colors glow in the dark! And not only will Oglo products glow in the dark, but unlike other products of the past, Oglo colors glow SUPER BRIGHT and glow for hours!!! Oglo Mega Glo Stiks will glow with or without batteries. Batteries are included so you can use as a “light” or a “flashing light.” Just hold under any light for 10 minutes and it will glow for hours! You can also use the batteries to charge the Mega Glo Stik if no other light source is available! Package includes Five (5) Glow Stiks.”

Five stars. Marked down from $50 to $13.50.

Illuminator Self Powered 4-in-1 FM Radio / Alarm / 3 White focused LED flashlight / Mobile phone charger Crank Powered – from $40 to $8.50, surprisingly well-reviewed for a hand-cranked flashlight/radio/alarm/cell phone charger…that one’s actually tempting to keep in the glove compartment and junk drawer with the candles for power outages.

At .60 freakin’ cents, these would be a great gift. Darn it. WordPress has been really wonky all week and the link disappeared. Stainless steel flasks, standard, but cheap.

This was new to me, a cooler light:

“A single LED light reflected through an acrylic lens is secured to the underside of the cooler lid with double side adhesive. The light is designed to shine automatically when the lid is raised and to turn off when the cooler is closed. Unlike the typical refrigerator, the Cooler Light will shut off automatically after 20 seconds regardless if the lid is shut completely. Now you can find the right beverage at night. ”

From $10 down to $3.

Y’all know I LOVED my 1L Platypus water bags (though somehow they disappeared between Monday and unpacking when I got home…). Platypus makes a resuable wine carrier,

That’s $34 for a 4-pack, $85 off. These sound like my kind of people, to boot:

“Glass wine bottles are often impractical for backpacking, ski touring, or getting a little boozy at your favorite blues concert. Transport your wine inside the packable Platypus PlatyPreserve, and protect its taste at the same time. Pour your favorite wine into this 5.5 inch by 10.5 inch reservoir, squeeze the air out (air ruins flavor), and seal the airtight cap. Now you can enjoy that just-opened taste days, and even weeks later… and slip past concert security undetected.”

I’m thinking it’d be great for transporting moonshine and other homemade beverages. One burn…my second? Tmus, I took a box of wine, punctured the bag to add fruit and make sangria, taped it back up and wasted a box of wine.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Tall tents”

  1. N Says:

    thanks for the link to the cheap little led keychain lights. I’ve got lots of multicolor bulbs. It’s easy to change them out. As I was running around at work today, somebody said, “your pocket is flashing.” I’m wearing khakis, and the little light on my keychain was on, and it made a nice little lightshow.

  2. lazerfox Says:

    thanks for the links!
    I had never heard of those reusable glo stiks and I’m sold on them.

    BTW the cooler light looks just like those stick on push night lights for kids or hallway closets

    • J Says:

      The difference with the cooler light is that it automatically goes on and off, like a fridge light. You don’t have to manually click it like those lights.

      • lazerfox Says:

        That is definitely a plus. I was just saying that it looked like those lights which is funny to me for some reason. 🙂

Leave a Reply

