Shit I like on Etsy

I am so, so, soooooooooooooooooooooooo borrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrred at work. I can’t watch Netflix any more, so now I really, literally, have nothing to do.

Pocket belts appear to be all the rage I WAS THERE FIRST! Some kids at Alchemy even had the same design as the one gifted me by a former? reader…I love that thing. I love the one I made even more, of course, since it’s just for me and what I need. Sandalmoon has some pretty cute designs, some truly lovely; can’t speak for the practicality but she has 100% positive reviews.

Still like the bones tails. And their banner:

I think if you use “burning man” as your search word on Etsy, you get a pretty good idea of everything that’s wrong with it: furry leg warmers, light-up goggles and tutus. And a lot of shit with feathers, that shouldn’t be taken to the playa because feathers, sequins, etcetcetc = MOOP. “Tribal” crap and goddess dresses. Cheap-ass goggles you can get anywhere for like, ten bucks. Slap some paint and the word “steampunk” on it and sell for sixty bucks. This is a cute idea, however

Keeping your bum warm IS important. Nighttime is all about layers. What’s good for a two-mile walk from camp to Root Society is not good for dancing in a sweaty crowd of 2,000 people. What’s keeping you cozy at Midnight Popcorn Palace near a burn barrel will not help as you cruise deep playa, the night breeze (aka frigid air) in your face. So make sure to keep your butt warm.

Let me go ahead and tell you what I hate. You’ll have to click, I’m not even going to put a picture on my blog. The good thing about those stupid hats, though, is that I can completely avoid anybody wearing one, no questions asked.  Arm warmers crack me up. Buy some socks. Cut the toes off. Cut a hole for your thumb. Done. I like using toe socks, just snip the tips off. One last thing I like:

I know hip kids like the holster look (especially DPW) but you can’t really carry much. Until now

Six pockets, total (snack, chapstick, sunscreen, pen, contact info cards, pee funnel, ___). D rings to clip on everything else (goggles, mug, maybe a lighter or chapstick, etc.). Want. The only problem for me with that would be how to carry water.

Say, in another description she lists exactly what you can do!

“Fill this belt’s 4 pockets with everything you need for your burning man adventure! Small flashlight, lighter, stash, stickers, candy, compass, program, jewelry, condoms, you name it. Also D-rings and clips for more places to attach things and stuff.

Pockets have the >'< burning man logo subtly set on the lids (with cowhide fur accent). People who know will recognize, and those that don’t know yet, will still think it looks fly.

Not only does the buckle ensure a comfortable fit… The lacing and eyelets allows for maximum adjustability. When ordering, be sure to tell me your hip size! Each is made custom fit.

Starbust design is standard, ask for a different configuration of studs if you feel inspired. Keeping each one unique is part of the appeal.

Go take a dust bath!”

We like her. Him. Them. You REALLY can tell who’s been and knows what’s needed, and who just glues spikes onto goggles.

And the penultimate:

Clippity-pockety-linkyadeedoo EXTRAVAGANZA! I could clip my water bottles to the back

Bearing in mind I mean my Platypus bottles, not Sigs or metal clanky things. Remember what I said about the difference between people who KNOW how to roll in BRC, and those just trying to profit from us? (also, Regretsy’s Compare and Save is great, showing you how low the standards of Etsy have fallen)

“Are you a fire spinner? Do you feel safer having an extra pair of quick links? Upon request, the lower pocket pulls can come equipped with exactly this.” Also, THIS:

Excellent for crushed cans, no doubt. I’m surprised there’s not a built-in grill for bacon on-the-fly; this best actually is, as claimed, BAD-ASS. Ok, she just needs to quit. I can’t afford an engagement ring to offer, right now. I have a BM ticket to pay for!

Let’s do some tutorials. What do you want, but can’t afford, that I could show you how to do cheaper?

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Shit I like on Etsy”

  1. Jet Says:

    Vests suck if you have boobs. They end up all scrunched up in your armpits. Not cool or comfortable at all. Now if it had a skinny suspender part for the upper chest then that might work.

    • J Says:

      Yeah, my thought about holsters like that is that the parts down front would flap around. I’d need something to strap them down more…the one’s with the D rings on front, you could run a chain or fabric through – a spare bandanna or something.

  2. Allison Says:

    And I thought I was splurging when I spent $65 (Canadian) on my yak leather utility belt…

  3. Christine Says:

    “I think if you use “burning man” as your search word on Etsy, you get a pretty good idea of everything that’s wrong with it: furry leg warmers, light-up goggles and tutus.”

    Can I just vent a little here on how I HATE the trendiness at Burning Man. The whole point, I thought, was about individuality, freedom of expression, etc, etc. I absolutely hate fur and those furry leg warmers. HATE. THEM.

    There are other trendy things I’ve noticed when local burners congregate in my area as well. Does this happen everywhere? Maybe I’m being a snob, or I just don’t know how to fit in with the other kids, or I’m making it into too much of a big deal. I LOVE the open canvas of BM. I really miss it. But I think it’s kind of sad when it starts looking like a clique from high school.

    End of rant. Don’t hate me.

    • J Says:

      Oh no, I’m right there with you. I’m really pissy now because stuff I’ve always liked and worn has become trendy (Day of the Dead, Victoriania/”steampunk”). It’s really the lack of care and love and effort, too.

  4. Christine Says:

    I think I’m going to rebel and express my individuality by just being normal. 🙂

Leave a Reply

