It’s just a bunch of people pseudo-communicating.

Californication has returned…”hence my self-loathing.”

“You can’t snort a line of coke off a woman’s ass and not wonder about her hopes and dreams, it’s not gentlemanly.”

“I love women. I have all their albums.”

It’s addictive, it’s smart, it’s well-written, perfectly cast and performed – great soundtrack. Subjects and characters I loathe and ordinarily wouldn’t look twice at, but I can’t help it. It’s good.

4 Responses to “It’s just a bunch of people pseudo-communicating.”

  1. Issa Says:

    I just started watching the first season of this. So far, I’m not particularly drawn to watch it – haven’t gotten caught up in the characters or whatever. But when I watch one, like you say, it’s just GOOD. It’s so well written and is funny as hell.

  2. J Says:

    It’s tough, because on the one hand I’m all, “What a self-centered JERK!” On the other hand…it’s well-written, they manage to make him empathetic, and it has good themes throughout each season on relationships and love.

  3. Issa Says:

    So far, he’s the kind of jerk I can enjoy. I hope it doesn’t go the direction that Nip/Tuck did, though, which was that eventually the characters were so despicable no amount of good writing could save them.

    • J Says:

      NO! Most DEFINITELY not. N/T was great, the first season. Steadily moved downhill from there. Californication (as of episode 1 of season 4) has not had to stoop to the ridiculous stunts N/T did – and doesn’t rely on the sensationalism, to start with. It’s a much smarter show.

Leave a Reply

