Christmas dinner

I like to start with an appetizer.

I even made a half-assed effort to decorate.

Leftover flowers from a funeral on a chair with my Santa skirt draped around it. Bonus: knew the guy who’s funeral it was.

Dinner was equally as odd, a pumpkin ricotta pasta casserole recipe I got from Apartment Therapy. “It’s going to be awful or awesome,” I replied when asked “What’s for dinner?”

It looked awful.

A dull orange…but I mean, cheese and pasta and garlic, right? Right.

Mmm….so right. Shitty pictures, good food. I daydream about a food blog, you know. I write posts in my head everytime I see food, eat food or read about food.

Here’s the whole thing for you lazy people who don’t click on links:

Pumpkin & Ricotta Pasta Casserole
serves 6

Olive oil
1 pound pasta, such as farfalle, small shells, or elbows (I was 4 oz. short, couldn’t tell at all)
One 15-ounce container ricotta
One 15-ounce can pumpkin puree
2 eggs
1/2 cup yogurt
2 teaspoons salt
Freshly ground black pepper
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
3/4 cup pecans, roughly chopped
1/2 cup loosely packed fresh sage leaves, finely chopped (Just used the sage I already had, it was fine – except it looks like pot and made me want some)
2 large garlic cloves, finely chopped (I usually double garlic, but I stuck with the recipe just in case – next time, more garlic)
3/4 cup grated Parmesan, divided

Heat the oven to 375°F. Lightly oil a 9×13-inch baking dish with olive oil. Set aside. Bring a 4-quart pot of water to boil over high heat, and stir about 1 tablespoon of salt. Add the pasta, and turn the heat down to medium. Cook for a slightly shorter amount of time than specified by the package. (For instance, if the package specifies 10 to 12 minutes, cook for 9 to 10, or until just barely al dente.) Drain the pasta and toss lightly with olive oil.

In a large bowl, whisk together the ricotta, pureed pumpkin, eggs, and yogurt. Whisk in the salt, pepper, nutmeg, and ginger.

Stir in the pasta and coat completely with the pumpkin mixture. Stir in the pecans, chopped pecans, sage, and garlic. Stir in 1/2 cup Parmesan.

Spread the mixture evenly in the prepared baking dish and sprinkle the remaining 1/4 cup Parmesan over top. Bake uncovered for 35 minutes or until golden brown on top. Let stand for 5 minutes before serving.

Good as heck. Definitely making again.

Sent out some “Christmas cards:”

I spent the morning trying to buy myself Christmas presents but didn’t really come up with anything (except a replacement pair of earrings

)…next three days: lots of movies and reading.

Tags:

One Response to “Christmas dinner”

  1. N Says:

    Casserole looks yummy! I read recipes, but then don’t keep a copy, and try to fly with the basic idea. Results sometimes “interesting” sometimes great, but never able to repeat the wondrous ones. I’m going to try roasted pears today. Made a preliminary sauce with raisins, balsamic, olive oil and lemon juice. burned the raisins… will try another batch of that. I made some Fiji greens for my mother. Spinach (no greens at the store yesterday 😦 wanted to try mustard, or fall back Kale. Coconut cream, lemon juice, salt, minced onions, dash of seasoned chili oil (she doesn’t like any heat really… but I sneaked a teeny bit in.) Best greens for this I think are pumpkin tops, or fiddleheads. not too popular or available here in the States. Spinach is a little fragile and slimy for this. but that’s what I got. Merry Christmas, look in the mail early next week.

Leave a Reply

