In which the TSA pisses me off.

I remember the good ol’ days when I’d check in and head to the plane. Didn’t measure bags, or measure toiletries or…well, anything except show up on time.

My grand plan was to cram as much into my carry-on and “personal” bag as possible, maybe even a few treats that should be packed. Or not.

Here’s a list of liquid, aerosol and gel items that you should put in your checked bag, ship ahead, or leave at home.

  • Cranberry sauce
  • Cologne
  • Creamy dips and spreads
    (cheeses, peanut butter, etc.)
  • Gift baskets with food items
    (salsa, jams and salad dressings)
  • Gravy
  • Jams
  • Jellies
  • Lotions
  • Maple syrup
  • Oils and vinegars
  • Perfume
  • Salad dressing
  • Salsa
  • Sauces
  • Snowglobes
  • Soups
  • Wine, liquor and beer

So…no bringing food with me (to save the check-in weight). NO SNOWGLOBE FOR YOU.

I already know to wear easy clothing and easy shoes to take on and off (I’ve always been a light, care-free traveler).  But my “toiletries,” sunscreen, contact solution, etc. I think would exceed their rule…so I guess instead of the nice box it’s all oragnized in now I have to split it up more…and…

Can I just say, I would sort of love to have my mom’s cranberry relish (SO GOOD) in a fancy crystal dish, and try to fly somewhere with it.  Airport security are not people to piss off, though. I need to decide what to wear…no pockets, no metal, shoes that slide off – will probably carry my coat. That’ll be great. I’ll be in boots and leggings and (trying to wear clothes that I want to take) with a coat, ha ha! In 100+ S.C. and Texas weather…anyways! Last night I did it! I packed my carry-on! I fit everything and more.

So, if I do get there without my checked luggage, I’ll be fine. Not gussied up at any point during the week, but my teeth will be brushed, my meds will be taken, and I’ll have plenty of socks. And a spiked rubber bra.

I still have my “personal” bag to fill, too!

Thanks to the awesome people loaning me a cooler and sleep stuff, packing is going to be much, much simpler.

Leave a Reply

