The food list isn’t going so well…

Two big factors against me: I’m gluten-free and a healthy eater – not picky, mind you. Not picky at all! I just can’t susist and feel good on beef jerky and junk food. So while other people’s lists are long and easy they’re also full of stuff I can’t eat, or wouldn’t want to eat because I know it’ll just make me feel blugh.

Here’s what I have so far:

Buy before:

Udi’s bread

cereal

coconut water

(we’re going to some normal grocery store, so all the Trader Joe’s crap people go on and on about, and the extensive gluten-free options, are out)

Buy there:

rice cakes 😦

beets?

water

box milks? 😦

chips 😦

jar salsa (as opposed to fresh) 😦

Buy there for cooler:

soda 😦

pickles 😦

cheese?

chicken salad? 😦

vegetables of some sort?

yogurt?

? = not sure if I should get it or would eat it

😦 = something I don’t normally eat

I’ll have access to a stove, though, so I can think about easily made stuff. I don’t usually take anything in a can camping, for the trash factor. And, I don’t know what this store will have. I know Publix like the back of my hand, what they have and where it is, but I need to make sure there’s enough ideas on the list so that if the store doesn’t have something, I have a back-up plan.

Edited to add:

Well, once again, burners are being AWESOME and sharing with me, so while I’ll still take some stuff for me and to share, I’m fairly guaranteed a few meals.

Adding to the lists:

hummus

Simply Potato hashbrowns and sweet potatos

juice

grits

gluten-free tortillas

jasmine rice

Ensure?

sauerkraut

If I was going to cook dinner for people I’d make:

shrimp and grits

ceviche and tortas

ropa vieja

daal

doro wat

I read that pickles brined, rather than just stuffed in vinegar, are better, so I made that addendum to “pickles,” on the list. My mom’s homemade pickle relish is SO GOOD! Chowchow’s another thing I would take, if not for the whole glass jar and flying hoo-ha – I’d want to make it, though.

I just realized, though…I bet I can’t take the kim chee with me, all those limits on fluid amounts and junk. Hm.

4 Responses to “The food list isn’t going so well…”

  1. Christine Says:

    Aww, that sucks. My camp might have a few nights where we can invite guests over for dinner so maybe you can come over one of those nights. I can let you know. We’ll be on 7:00 and Detroit. Thanks for the card and stickers by the way. 🙂

  2. Gizmo Says:

    My experience is that when I bring foods I don’t eat at home, I end up not eating them at the burn.

    Shrimp and grits, mmmmmm.

    • J Says:

      Well, that’s what I always do for trips, just bring whatever I’d eat normally. But I still remember how badly I wanted a freakin’ Coke – I don’t even like Coke! Or chips and that cheese in a can stuff. But it sure tasted good out there…was showing people The Margie Show last night 🙂

  3. N Says:

    daal yay. souper!

Leave a Reply

