Contrariwise

Continues to be an excellent bookmark.

“The poem is there, on my arm, in its entirety… “Do what you are going to do, and I will tell about it.”  Olds once said that poetry comes out of her lungs, and now I have this reminder, this collection of gorgeous language, that tells me again and again:  don’t forget to breathe, don’t forget who you are.”

I Go Back to May 1937

Do what you are going to do, and I will tell about it. I like A Week Later. I asked myself, “What would a Herman Hesse tattoo look like? My favourite line, about the world…”

Somebody beat me to it

If I got a tattoo of every meaningful line and passage, my body would look like walking page…this guy had a hilarious idea.

Hesse, Camus and Goethe, St. V and ?

I have a journal I used to keep, full of lines from books, movies and songs (it’s got more My So-Called Life in it than I’d like to ‘fess up to).

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

