Oh, bother

I’m watching “Sherman’s March.” It’s pretty amusing – very droll and dry.

I found my Highlands Ability results, going through stuff to get rid of this weekend. I’m reluctant to look through it. I recall being upset, when I got my results. They confirmed I should go into “the arts.” I spent my college and usual career-readiness time (mid-late teens/early-mid 20s) trying to do just the opposite. Major in something sensible. Figure out something sensible I want to major in. All I wanted to do was go to fashion school. Live in a commune. L’Abri.

But go through I shall, hoping something will click and maybe help out my current lost-ness.

I’m an “ISTJ.”

ISTJs are often called inspectors. They have a keen sense of right and wrong, especially in their area of interest and/or responsibility.

ISTJs direct their energy towards the inner world of ideas and information. They try to clarify concepts and information, seeking to have as clear a knowledge as possible.

I’d say those things are quite true. I also agree with this list:

In a team environment, the ISTJ can contribute by:

  • working hard and efficiently to complete tasks by the deadlines set
  • sorting ideas and identifying those that are most practical
  • applying a common sense approach to problem solving
  • maintaining team focus on the objective
  • contributing practical organisational skills
  • applying procedures and methodologies
  • applying relevant and realistic logical arguments

I’m great with deadlines (having worked with them near-daily for the past ten years, especially), I can keep meetings focused…it’s always funny, reading about “yourself.”

ISTJs are very loyal, faithful, and dependable. They place great importance on honesty and integrity. They are “good citizens” who can be depended on to do the right thing for their families and communities. While they generally take things very seriously, they also usually have an offbeat sense of humor and can be a lot of fun – especially at family or work-related gatherings.

I’d say that is all very, very true. Most of the rest of that particular page of descriptions I don’t agree with, though.

ISTJs seem to fit extremely well into the Management and Executive layer of the corporate business world.

Uh, not this one! Not AT ALL.

  • Dislike doing things which don’t make sense to them
  • True, true.

    Dislike abstract theory, unless they see the practical application

    Love abstract theory! I’m a drop-out philosophy major!

    It’s funny, in the “F” (Feeling, v. Thinking) I got a perfect Questioning score of 0 (meaning I’m totally precise, challenging and enjoy a debate), closely followed by a 2 and 3 in Logical and Reasonable, yet I scored an ultimate 10 on Tender (as opposed to tough).

    I also, apparently, scored nearly just the same as INTJ, “Life’s Independent Thinkers.”

    INTJs are introspective, analytical, determined persons with natural leadership ability. Being reserved, they prefer to stay in the background while leading. Strategic, knowledgable and adaptable, INTJs are talented in bringing ideas from conception to reality. They expect perfection from themselves as well as others and are comfortable with the leadership of another so long as they are competent. INTJs can also be described as decisive, open-minded, self-confident, attentive, theoretical and pragmatic.

    I’d say that’s also true – especially the bit about being comfortable as a leader, as long as my followers are competent.

    INTJs live in the world of ideas and strategic planning. They value intelligence, knowledge, and competence, and typically have high standards in these regards, which they continuously strive to fulfill. To a somewhat lesser extent, they have similar expectations of others.

     INTJs focus their energy on observing the world, and generating ideas and possibilities. Their mind constantly gathers information and makes associations about it. They are tremendously insightful and usually are very quick to understand new ideas.

    But then it goes on to say what a great scientist or engineer I’d make, which sadly is nowhere near pretending to be remotely true. The career list, like with ISTJ, has nothing I’m interested in. Except the one thing I’ve been interested in all my life: psychology.

    Then it snaps right back:

    When under a great deal of stress, the INTJ may become obsessed with mindless repetitive, Sensate activities, such as over-drinking.

    Ha! Mmm…over drinking…I have some fresh pineapple and coconut just waiting for a dollop of gin when I get home.

    Leave a Reply

