Links du jour

I suppose I feel lonely and mopey, so I’m crawling back down inside myself – it looks rather unlike the outside. Though I find entertainment and amusement in ….well, according to other people, “sick,” “abrasive,” “insane,” “weird” shenanigans, I take comfort and seek solace in beauty – esp. that of simplicity. So, here is what I’m poking around today:

I’ve learned there’s a whole “tiny house” or “small house” movement. Me, I have always (no, seriously, since I was a child) yearned to be a gypsy (racism!). Like these house trucks.

Somebody at Alchemy had the sweetest little white trailer/camper, small and round.  Ever since I saw Kitchen Stories I’ve been sort of intrigued by that particular shape of camper.

(How sweet is that pram??)

My little car wouldn’t pull something like that, though. At best, perhaps when my sassy little bug gives up the ghost, I’ll get something I can camp out the back of. Someone I know has a…boxy car thingie. He puts the seats down for a mattress and covers the rear end with an EZ Up, walls of pretty fabric, et voila. It grows evermore tiresome to do all this packing and unpacking and setting up and tearing down and repacking blah blah blah by myself.

So sleep in a hammock!

Uh, no.

…nevermind. I am so horrible about personal blogging. So I’m going back to faerie tales, gypsy trailers (or vardos*, as they are actually called. I love me some learnin’. Maybe one day I will meet someone who can help me build a small one.), hobbit homes and midsummer’s night dreamings.

*Heh, one site joked about the “period police.” No, not people that wander around making sure tampons are in place. People who say things like, “A 14th-Century lady most certainly would NOT have worn a whalebone hoopskirt in lieu of an empire waist – that brocade’s thread count is WRONG!”**

**Yes, I actually say things like that. Just in my head, and not to other people.

I think one thing that draws me to the SCA – and burners, come to think of it – is their love of doing things just for the sake of doing them. Like the guys with the “vardo” links, admitting the vardos aren’t period, but a “bender tent” is. And here they are, making one. I mean, who does that?? When you can set up a few poles and some nylon and be done with it in a few minutes? Who spends every day of a year working towards something that will be around for a few days, and then gone forever?

Awesome people, that’s who.  And hey, they live in Georgia somewhere!

Not to mention burly men in kilts, mead and fire. Heck yeah. Next year, Pennsic. BRC can have itself. I’ll take the Renaissance over a rave any day!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Links du jour”

  1. Sean 'Tinker' McPherson Says:

    I saw the white camper, too, thought it was great. Saw the solar cells charging things up, and it looked pretty nice. Never saw the owners to ask what they thought of it. Looked like one of these to me, almost:

    http://www.eggcamper.com/

    See you next burn!!!

Leave a Reply

