Help John Waters, you’re my only hope…

‘cuz I need help with camp…get it?

Me neither.

Anyways, my camp plan seems to be falling through, so I’m on the prowl…or not.

My thinking is, “…[usually} I camp up in the woods, but I’d like to be with people who have experience and can help me out, if/when I need it. Sure, I can just stand there hollerin’, but it’d be nice to be surrounded by people who know what they’re doing (and maybe bring along some amentities that I can’t). Just a little peace of mind, for me…”

 The following camps may or may not even take on people (much less virgins) but they sound like camps I’d enjoy:

Crackwhore Camp

Camp Cats!Cats!Cats! (Before I ever saw their logo, I was contemplating the same design for a tattoo…)

Camp Disappointment
Were you picked lasted in gym class, first out in dodgeball, and rejected by all the girls? Are you having way to much fun on the playa? Come on down to Camp Disappointment and find out what we can’t and won’t do for you. Interactive pseudo performance art crap.

Camp Here
We’re awesome, and we like tequila. The tequila fairy lives here. We’re easy, but not too easy.

 

Hushville sounds nice, quiet. Quiet being why I camp alone. And there’s a lot more hippie crap, and less chaos than I want *pouty face*.

Just Show Up Camp
Traveling solo and tired of being far from the action? Want to camp closer to the esplanade or are you loner who wants to make new friends? “Just Show Up Camp!” is for individuals traveling solo who would like to “Just Show Up” and camp together without the usual formalities of a theme camp.

Kostume Kult – I know people, and, well, COSTUMES. And maybe I could sneak into a box and get shipped back to NYC. “Oops, sorry work, I moved or whatever…”

 

Monticello
The Wigs welcome you to our home, Monticello, an epicenter of unbridled debauchery, pseudo-aristocratic absurdism, unfathomable sexiness, and pantaloon-shaking madness.

The only problem with that is I want to go to BM to escape my day-to-day routine (hardy har har).

Poppycock
World renowned as the finest purveyors of Shrimp Tacos. I am requesting that you perform five jumping jacks for reading this.

I love tacos, and the description. Finely devoid of exlamation points and the word “love.”

PolyParadise – I know people

http://polyparadise.azcompuguy.com/whatuget-09.htm

Unnatural History Museum
…we will provide a ‘Victoriana’ themed bar and lounge bringing to mind the high culture and impeccable hospitality of England in the 1860’s.

 

and that is it. I didn’t really see even one, that reeeealllly sounded like “me.” I guess I’m more of a “Dirty Southern Burner” than I thought! So maybe I’ll just stick it out on my own…that just seems like a not-great idea, my first year. Esp. given my up in the air (ha ha! Take that, fate!) structure situation.


Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Help John Waters, you’re my only hope…”

  1. Tess Says:

    I camped with “Anti-M’s Home for Wayward Art” which is within Hushville. I didn’t really spend that many nights at home, I usually stayed up until sunrise and sometimes fell asleep on art projects in the playa 🙂 Towards the end I met someone and I stayed with him at “Kontainer Kamp” which is within the (defunct, this year, I believe) “Boston Hive” (which contains/contained all the boston area theme camps). It was definitely more noisy as it was on the esplanade but it wasn’t the end of the world 🙂

    Last year I stayed with Kontainer Kamp and the Boston Village was right next to some really bad euro pop club place that just had their ipod on endless loop for most of the event, no dj’s as far as I know. Same songs over and over again. Speakers pointed left and right versus out towards the esplanade. One morning Automatic Subconcious (another boston theme camp who my boyfriend has camped with and will camp with this year, and I’ll be staying in his hexi-yurt) turned their giant speakers at them at 7 am and had a pantera wake up. It finally got them to negotiate reasonably and turn their speakers the right direction.

    Um Um…Kostume Kult was next to them so they had to endure the annoyance.

    Point of this post…you can sleep wherever you want to once you have your tent set up. But, if you are camped right next to the action and you desperately need to have your own space and have it be quiet RIGHT THIS SECOND you can’t exactly get away 🙂

    personally I deal with constant noise pollution. Below me is Niel who makes experimental noise music. At 5 am. Chainsaws. Guns. Etc. Above me is a wood shop who begins working at 6 am. They like to drop stuff. White noise + ear plugs + desensitization and chilling out are my methods of handling preposterous amounts of noise. I can’t really complain since we have the space we live in to make as much noise and we want to whenever we want to. I certainly don’t want people complaining when I’m inspired to do construction and knock down the false ceiling in my room at 4 am 😉

    Let me know where you are camped when you figure out!!! I want to hang out with you!!! I’ll be at Automatic Subconcious, don’t know the street address yet but they’ll be in the guide + should be on the esplanade.

  2. Where should I camp? « I’m going to Burning Man. Says:

    […] should I camp? By J Here’s what I was looking at last […]

Leave a Reply

