Maybe I should bring a broom.

The playa dust is legendary. People horde it in their playa coats, the rest of the year. They walk around saying, “Smell it! Smells like playa!!” I haven’t thought too much about it, as it isn’t something I can do anything about, but some pictures in this thread:

http://eplaya.burningman.com/viewtopic.php?p=434754

Have me thinking whoa…that’s a lot of dust. I’m leaning towards disposable masks + goggles. I think that is one thing I am looking forward to the least. That, and not being able to be everywhere at once, 24/7 for the week.

2 Responses to “Maybe I should bring a broom.”

  1. Brody Says:

    Yes, actually, a small broom and dustpan is a good idea for your tent, unless you’re going to lay down rugs (or carpet squares, etc).

    Best thing ever: bring a giant sheet to put over your bed. When you get up in the mornings, tuck it over everything (pillows etc). That way, your bed is clean when you climb into it eventually. Nothing worse than a bedful of playa. But seriously, it gets everywhere, and you get used to it really fast.

  2. Randall Says:

    Regarding goggles… ski goggles seem to be the most preferred, though I’m not sure why. Maybe becaue they are vented and don’t steam up. Motorcycle goggles are next.

    On masks, the disposable ones are fine for most every one. I carried a larger particle mask, but warn against anything better. Better masks (like for asbestos) just catch more and clog.

Leave a Reply

