Food??

Food is the worst part, often, for my trips.  Most staples (crackers, granola, bagels, sandwich bread anything, noodles anything) I can’t eat.  Every time, I pack too much. Usually, that’s not really a problem-problem, since I just bring it home, and eat it eventually.

However, we’re going grocery shopping when we get there. I don’t do coolers. I have no idea what to bring to eat.  I’m not really into junk food, like chips and such. I like to cook, but don’t do all the lugging of stuff, dishwashing, etc.

My main concern on the playa is staying healthy, with my food, not just preventing hunger.  I’m eyeballing some

 

Mountain House Western Style Scrambled Eggs and Ham For One

 

type stuff, but I want to think I can do something for cheaper. But maybe ease would be worth the money.

I juuuuust doooonnn’t knoooooow.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Food??”

  1. Randall Says:

    This Google presentation will help get you thinking about some of the food ramifications at Burning Man. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1CJTOZJioMM

    I brought three weeks of food my first year, not really knowing how much I’d eat or what I’d be hungry for. I had lots of leftovers, and lots of stuff to share.

    What I mostly found was that I didn’t want to spend a lot of time on food. I was pretty happy to just make something fast and get back to the festival.

    Breakfast was usually the “big meal” since it was quieter and there were fewer things I’d be missing while I ate.

    I drank a gallon each of apple juice and grape juice, which not only broke up the monotony of all the water but provided a boatload of vitamins.

    I had a lot of granola bars, mostly because I could carry them around all the time. Luna is my favorite brand, and again, it has oodles of vitamins

    If you are going to at least be able to heat water, there’s lots of “pouch” foods in the grocery store – rice and noodle products, mostly. Even though I brought my backpacking stove and some jet fuel, we only used it twice… once for a potluck dinner and other time to heat up someone’s branding iron.

    I don’t think I started eating “real food” again until mid-September.

    If you don’t do a cooler, pretty much everything you eat will be “astronaut” food.

  2. nancy Says:

    Trader Joes has some kick-ass pre-cooked indian dishes in foil packs. All you do is heat them..which means puting on the hood of your car for a bit. With some pita bread – YUM. We carried fresh fruit with us too that can withstand heat – apples and such. Basically think of stuff you can take to a cookout and leave on the pot-luck table for hours and it doesn’t matter. You really lose a bit of appetite out there so hydrating is more key. Juices, water, granolas and such are really key. If you’re lucky you get invited to a restaurant type camp for dinner one night. Another tip. Use your cooler water melt from ice for washing your face – don’t use your good drinking water.

Leave a Reply

